Sep 10 - 17 2016
Ouroboros Trilogy

Ouroboros Trilogy

Presented by ArtsEmerson at Emerson Cutler Majestic Theatre

An ouroboros, an ancient Greek icon depicting a serpent eating its own tail, has become symbolic of eternal renewal. Created by Boston’s Cerise Lim Jacobs, Ouroboros Trilogy is a cycle of three grand operas including the 2011 Pulitzer Prize-winning Madame White Snake, along with two world premieres, Gilgamesh and Naga.

Together, this epic cycle, explores themes of life, death, and rebirth. Each opera is a fully realized production, separately created by three living composers, all featuring librettos by Cerise Lim Jacobs. Naga (composed by Boston’s Scott Wheeler) is the story of a young Monk who renounces everything to find nirvana, but is tempted to abandon the path when he encounters The White Snake. Madame White Snake (composed by Zhou Long) is the story of a demon who longs to become human to experience love. And Gilgamesh (composed by Paola Prestini) finds the half-demon son of Madame White Snake realizing his true power and being pushed into a position where he must choose between his family and happiness.

Operas will be shown separately, as well as in full day, seven-hour marathon events.
Operas will be sung in English with projected titles on the side of the theatre.

Dates & Times

2016/09/10 - 2016/09/17

Location Info

Emerson Cutler Majestic Theatre

219 Tremont Street, Boston, MA 02116

Accessibility Info